Maryland Firearms Instructors
Being a law abiding gun owner carries with it great responsibilities. Being competent in your abilities with a firearm is paramount to success. Learning from qualified Maryland firearms instructors is instrumental to that success.
Owning a firearm in and of itself does not make you or your family safe. Having the proper firearms training and the ability to make decisive decisions is all part of your training experience.
Maryland Handgun Qualification Class (HQL)
The Maryland handgun qualification class (HQL) is required by the state of Maryland. This class if required by the Maryland Firearms Safety Act of 2013.
This course is a 4 hour course often times in a class room setting that teaches the basics of state firearms law, firearms safety in your home, and the basics of handgun operation and mechanisms. It also requires that you demonstrate the ability to safely fire a handgun.
After October 1, 2013 A person may not rent, purchase, or receive a handgun unless they possess a valid Handgun Qualification License (HQL) issued by the Maryland State Police.
Qualified Maryland firearms instructors who have been approved by the Maryland State Police are able to offer you the training to receive your (HQL). There are a few exemptions to this rule which can be found on the Maryland.gov website.
Wear and Carry Permit Training
Wear and carry permit training is a course that is approx 16 hours in length for the original application. Renewal applications are approx 8 hours in length. You are exempt from this training if you are active or retired law enforcement, active, retired or honorably discharged from the armed services or a qualified handgun instructor that is registered with the Maryland State Police.
For more information about your firearms training please feel free to contact any of the firearms instructors below.
Worth A Shot
8424 Veterans Hwy #11
Millersville, MD 21108
Of Interest To Others:
Self Defense Insurance In Maryland