How To Purchase A Suppressor In North Carolina – Suppressors in NC
A silencer or suppressor in North Carolina is any device that can be attached to a firearm be it a rifle or pistol that lowers or muffles the report of a firearm.
Suppressor laws in North Carolina allow for use of suppressors in NC for multiple reasons. The Tar Heel State is the 40th state to legalize the use and ownership of suppressors.
- Hunting > Applicable regulations can be found at NCWildlife.Org
- Home Defense
- Hearing Protection
- Business Defense
- Target Shooting
- Any Legal Use As Authorized By North Carolina Law
Many suppressors attach to the firearm by use of threads which screw on to a threaded barrel, while others may be manufactured inside the barrel also known as a integral suppressor. If your firearm currently does not have a threaded barrel a qualified North Carolina gunsmith can add them for a nominal fee. A silencer can lower the sound of a gun shot by as much as 45 decibels and even more in custom builds.
Where Can I Buy A Suppressor In North Carolina ?
- There are multiple manufactures of various types of suppressors in NC that are readily available, however it is not an item that one can just run out and purchase off the shelf. Silencers or suppressors are regulated items and as such fall under the authority of the National Firearms Act (NFA ) and the Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco Firearms and Explosives. The North Carolina FFL that you purchase from must have a SOT to be able to sell silencers.
Are Suppressors Legal In North Carolina ?
Suppressors are legal in North Carolina, the requirements for legally purchasing a suppressor in North Carolina are as follows
- You must be a resident of the State of North Carolina
- You must be at the least 21 years of age
- You must be a resident of the United States
- You must be legally able to purchase a firearm
- You must be able to pass a ATF background check
- You must pay a fee of $200 to the ATF for each suppressor or silencer you purchase
Suppressors Are Designated As A Class 3 Firearms In NC
Silencers and suppressors in North Carolina are designated as Class 3 Firearms by the Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco Firearms and Explosives. They are regulated items under the National Firearms Act (NFA).
These regulations were passed by the federal government on June 26, 1934 as a means to discourage unscrupulous persons from obtaining Class 3 weapons and lengthening prison sentences for those to be found in violation of the law. Although highly controlled silencers are perfectly legal to own in North Carolina.
Types of Suppressors and Silencers
- Rimfire: Rimfire silencers or suppressors in N.C. are designed for low pressure, low power cartridges such as the .22 or .17hmr. These types of suppressors are not designed to handle the higher pressures of rifle type ammunition. Having been designed to handle lower pressures and lower power it is highly advised not to use these types of silencers on a rifle. Because they are designed to handle lower pressures these types of silencers are normally the most affordable and make for a great entry level suppressor.
- Rifle : Rifle silencers and suppressor are designed to handle the high pressures associated with center fire cartridges. These types of silencers are designed to handle cartridges up to .50 BMG. They can be pricey in cost however, what is your hearing worth ?
- Pistol: Pistol silencers and suppressor are designed to handle the lower pressures of handgun rounds and may even be used with some of the sub-sonic ammunition’s that are on the market.
Purchasing A Suppressor In North Carolina
Once you have found the authorized NFA dealer you wish to do business with do not hesitate to ask for their recommendations as to the best suppressor to fit your needs. Once you have found the suppressor you wish to purchase you will need to fill out a Form 4 which will be sent to the ATF for approval. Most suppressor dealers in North Carolina will help you with this paperwork.
You will not be able to take possession of the suppressor until this process has completed. It can take several months for this process to complete and for you to obtain your North Carolina suppressor tax stamp so be patient. Note that you can purchase your suppressor from any authorized FFL dealer, even those whom are located out of your state.
- The Form 4 along with these additional documents must be sent to the ATF
- The ATF Form 4 in duplicate
- $200 Check to the Bureau of Alcohol Tobacco Firearms and Explosives – ATF
- FBI Form FD-258s which must be in black ink
- Passport photos
- If purchasing as a firearms trust ATF Form 5320.23
The last thing you need to do is send a copy of your Form 4 to the local Chief Law Enforcement Official. This is required by law unless your purchasing as a gun trust which affords you more privacy.
What Is A Gun Trust And How Does It Afford You More Privacy ?
A gun trust is a revocable trust that owns property. That’s right, it owns property, such as NFA weapons.The trust can purchase NFA weapons in its name and all of those whom are on the trust can enjoy legally using these items. Learn more about the benefits of having a firearms trust.
By allowing your N.C. gun trust to purchase NFA items you personally do not have to go through the normal background process that comes with purchasing individual firearms or other regulated items.
A gun trust is not required to submit fingerprints or go through background checks when purchasing NFA items. A gun trust does not have to notify the Chief Law Enforcement Officer of its purchases.
Visit our North Carolina Gun Trust page to learn more about how to set up a firearms trust. You may be surprised at the affordability of this legal instrument. Read this interesting article in Field & Stream about how one Sheriff refuses to issue suppressor permits to individuals.
Of Interest To Others